Jim Jones

Songwriter, singer, novelist
photo of Jim Jones

Jim Jones was the Western Music Association's 2014 Male Performer of the Year and winner of both the Academy of Western Artists 2016 Western Song of the Year and Western Writers of America 2013 and 2017 Spur Awards for Best Western Song.

His songs and books are about the West: cowboys, horses & cattle, cattle rustlers, the coming of the train, people and land, rivers and mountains, and the beauty of the Western sky. Jim has produced ten Western/Folk albums and three award-winning children's character education videos.

Western novels include the Jared Delaney series (Rustler's Moon, Colorado Moon, and Waning Moon), and the spin-off series including The Big Empty (2016) and The Lights of Cimarron (2019), published by Five Star Publishing. Solo albums include Race with the Wind (2015), Headin' Home (2018) and brand new compilation CD, Favorites (2019).

Western Writers of America: 2017 Spur Award — "Halfway Down the Devil's Road," Western Song of the Year (Jim Jones, Allan Chapman)

Western Heritage Wrangler Award: 2017 Best Traditional Western Album — The Cowboy Way

Academy of Western Artists: 2016 Western Song of the Year

Western Music Association: 2014 Male Performer of the Year

Western Writers of America: 2013 Spur for Best Western Song — "Texas is Burnin"

Academy of Western Artists: 2008 Male Vocalist of the Year

Western Music Association: 2011 Outstanding Western Book — Colorado Moon

New Mexico Music Awards: 2009 Best Western Song — "Cowboys of New Mexico"